Spring Student Cyber Challenge Winners Announced

CivilianCyber is proud to announce the winners of the Spring Student Cyber Challenge. The winners are:

· First place ($1,250 prize): Radford University – Zach Bell, Brennan Cox and James Ririe

· Second place ($750 prize): Laurel Ridge Community College – Cooper Varela, Eric Breeden and Carmen Thayer

· Third place ($250 prize): Virginia Tech – Namita Shashidhar.

The Challenge was co-sponsored by the Southwest Node of the Commonwealth Cyber Initiative and consisted of seven teams of students from universities and one high school from southwest Virginia who worked collaboratively to you identify a cybersecurity area impacted by ChatGPT and outline a product/service that will mitigate the identified area for individuals and/or organizations.

The teams worked on their solution for two weeks and presented their final work to a panel of judges consisting of professionals from the cybersecurity industry including Ed Gooding and Faith Weems. Student teams from New River Community College, Louisa High School and Liberty University also participated.

In addition to placing first in the Challenge the Radford team was invited to further explore their solution with Mach 37, an entrepreneurial accelerator program.

CivilianCyber conducted the Student Cyber Challenge as part of its Student Entrepreneurial Ideation Challenge program which utilizes the secure CivilianCyber Workforce Innovation Network (WIN) online platform to facilitate the teams’ ideas and solutions.